The Awards, now in their third year, are designed to recognise the future leaders from across the local financial services industry by celebrating young Jersey talent (age 16 – 30 years). The awards span fourteen industry categories, including two new categories added this year to recognise young professionals for their work in ‘Diversity and Inclusion’, and ‘Sustainability’.

The ceremony was introduced by Jersey Finance’s Chief Executive, Joe Moynihan, who highlighted the positive role that Jersey’s young professionals play within the industry, the workplace, and the community, and underlined the importance of supporting young local talent in order to maintain a sustainable and resilient workforce on the island.

Over 150 young professionals were nominated for the Awards, of which 42 were shortlisted by the panel of independent judges. Over 50,000 votes were cast by members of the public to determine the winners, an increase of almost a third on last year’s total number of votes.

Winners of the Awards this year were:

– Accountancy: Leandro Rodrigues, Langham Hall Fund Management
– Banking: Stephen Coelho, UBS AG
– Compliance: Catherine Buxton, Stonehage Fleming
– CSR and Employee Morale: Oliver Berisford, Sanne
– Digital: Rahul Kini, EY
– Funds: Harry Messervy, Langham Hall Fund Management
– Human Resources: Alice Hutchinson, Vistra
– Investment Management: Charlie Le Quelenec, Ashburton
– Law: Caitlin Connor, Carey Olsen
– Marketing: Chris Hansen, Lloyds Bank
– Operations and Secretarial: Rosa Micheljump, Zedra Trust Company
– Trust & Corporate Services: Owen Anderton, Dominion
– Diversity and Inclusion: Sumaya Nabembezi, PwC
– Sustainability: Tori Davis, PwC

Commenting on the awards, Joe Moynihan, Chief Executive, Jersey Finance said:

“The aims of Rising Stars are two-fold: Firstly, to recognise the outstanding talent in young professionals in our industry, and secondly, by doing so, to hopefully inspire the next generation of Islanders to consider a career in our industry.

“The amazing response to the Awards this year, and the significant number of nominations and votes, really drives home the incredible achievements and talent of the Island’s young professionals. Congratulations to all of our winners and runners up, and to all those who were nominated. Their calibre, passion and dedication are evident, and will surely make them very strong candidates to progress into leading industry roles in the future.”

Sponsors for the Rising Stars Awards 2022 are Equiom, IQ-EQ, Oak Group, Stonehage Fleming, Vistra, Bedell Cristin, PwC, SG Kleinwort Hambros Bank, Deloitte, and Butterfield Bank (Jersey) Limited.

The full list of shortlisted candidates is:

Daniel Nolan (Grant Thornton), Chelsea Dollar, Louise Darwin, Charley Sampson, Max Lamb, Sumaya Nabembezi, Lydia Mollett, Tori Davis (PwC), Leandro Rodrigues, Harry Messervy (Langham Hall Fund Management), Stephen Coelho,  John Pipon (UBS AG), Megan O’Connor (Standard Bank), Dominic Hind (Mourant), Oliver Berisford, Corey Bisson, Chelsea Mason (Sanne),  Jordan Stott, Shelly Abreu, Luke Bromage-Henry (Deloitte), Rahul Kini (EY), Chelsea Le Beurrier (TMF Group), Natalia Fortuna, Mia Dixon (Ogier), Marina Mackinder (KPMG), Alice Hutchinson (Vistra), Charlie Le Quelenec (Ashburton), Luke Twardowski – Reid (Brooks Macdonald), Jodie Hassett (Rathbones), Bradley Gibb (Collas Crill), Caitlin Connor (Carey Olsen), Zandy Cohen (Viberts), Ayisha Ashworth, Danielle Costford (JTC), Chris Hansen (Lloyds Bank), Ben Rive (Sabre Advisory Limited), Andre De Faria (Hawksford), Rosa Micheljump (Zedra Trust Company), Ellen Hibbs (Highvern), Emily Hotton (Altum Group), Catherine Buxton (Stonehage Fleming) and Owen Anderton (Dominion).